If you’re planning to move your belongings yourself in a U-Haul truck, keep in mind that there are certain requirements you must meet when renting a U-Haul. You also need to make sure you have the budget to pay for a U-Haul. So, here’s what you need to know.
There are three base requirements to meet when reserving and renting a U-Haul truck:
- Meeting the age minimum for renting a truck
- A valid driver’s license
- A credit/debit card
U-Haul says that customers must be “16 years of age to rent trailers and 18 years of age to rent trucks. Both require a valid driver’s license.”
As mentioned before, you must have a valid driver’s license in order to rent a truck. It can be from any of the 50 states, Washington, D.C., the military, a Canadian province, or a foreign country.
Credit/debit card requirement
You’ll need a credit or debit card to reserve a U-Haul truck online. You can also find a U-Haul location near you and pay by cash or card in person. If you’re paying cash, you’ll need to put a deposit down. In-town rentals require a $100 deposit or the estimated charges, whichever is greater. One-way moves cost $100 in addition to the rental rate. It should also be noted that if you’re renting a cargo van or pickup truck you must have a valid credit or debit card in the renter’s name present, even if paying cash. The estimated charges are due in full when you pick up the moving equipment, regardless of how you pay. In addition, the cardholder should be present to pick up the equipment. Otherwise, anyone else who signs the contract will be held responsible for that equipment.
U-Haul provides optional damage coverage because credit cards and auto insurance policies usually don’t include truck or trailer coverage. Should you decide not to take that additional coverage, the equipment and any damages would become your responsibility.
Once all of the above requirements are met, you can begin the actual U-Haul rental process, which includes the following steps:
- Reserve the truck for the move date by paying over the phone or using your credit/debit card online (or pay in person)
- Tally up the entire cost due at pick-up (including the $5 environmental fee), taxes (based on local tax rates), and damage protection (prices will differ)
- Pay the full amount at pick up using your credit or debit card. You can also pay in cash, but keep in mind that a deposit will be required.
- Take the truck home, pack your possessions into the truck and head toward your new home
Depending on how long of a drive you have and where you’re going, you might need to make a gas stop and pay for any tolls along the way.
Regardless of how long you drove and where you went, you will need to return the truck with the same volume of gas it had in it. You also want the truck to be at least as clean as it was when you picked it up, if not cleaner. Otherwise, you’ll end up paying a cleaning fee. Also, be sure to park in designated areas to avoid tickets or fines. Makes copies of your paperwork and store it away in a safe spot in case any problems come up.
If you’re in or around the Fayetteville, Arkansas area and you’re looking for a U-Haul truck, moving supplies or self-storage facilities, contact Double Springs Storage. Call us at 479-521-2772, or visit our Contact Us page to submit a form.